Sign up for our newsletter to get 20% off + free shipping on orders over $25! Learn more »

Bloodsworth

The True Story of the First Death Row Inmate Exonerated by DNA Evidence

By Tim Junkin

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
October 14, 2005
ISBN
9781565127104

Bloodsworth

The True Story of the First Death Row Inmate Exonerated by DNA Evidence

By Tim Junkin

Available at

Description

Fans of Serial and Making a Murderer, meet Kirk Bloodsworth, the first death row inmate exonerated by DNA evidence.
 
Charged with the rape and murder of a nine-year-old girl in 1984, Bloodsworth was tried, convicted, and sentenced to die in Maryland's gas chamber. From the beginning, he proclaimed his innocence, but when he was granted a new trial because his prosecutors improperly withheld evidence, the second trial also resulted in conviction.
 
Bloodsworth read every book on criminal law in the prison library and persuaded a new lawyer to petition for the then-innovative DNA testing. After nine years in one of the harshest prisons in America, Bloodsworth was vindicated by DNA evidence.
 
Intense and hard-hitting, Bloodsworth is the story of a man’s tireless fight against a justice system that failed him.
 

Read more

Review quotes

"Kirk Bloodsworth is an American Josef K., an icon of a system that failed him--and justice--at every turn." —The Washington Post Book World

Read more

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
October 14, 2005
ISBN
9781565127104

Share with your friends