Sign up for our newsletter to get 20% off + free shipping on orders over $25! Learn more »

Every Last Cuckoo

By Kate Maloy

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
May 12, 2009
ISBN
9781565126756

Description

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

Read more

Review quotes

"A truly engrossing novel...This lovely tale depicts the surprises and changes that come with aging...An excellent book club selection." —Library Journal
"Marvelous...Its tenderly wrought portrayal of elderly life has an unexpectedly powerful effect." —The Oregonian
"The appeal of Maloy's debut—which has the fast-forward quality of a fairy tale—is not in its subtlety but in its conviction." —People
"Maloy's novel grabs the reader by the heart...In this portrait of a long and loving marriage, [she] gives us a real human family, with all its love and conflict and change, as well as a look at the richness that can come with age." —The New Orleans Times-Picayune

Read more

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
May 12, 2009
ISBN
9781565126756

Share with your friends