Sign up for our newsletter to get 20% off + free shipping on orders over $25! Learn more »

The Divine Economy of Salvation

By Priscila Uppal

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
416
Publication Date
August 26, 2002
ISBN
9781565123656

The Divine Economy of Salvation

By Priscila Uppal

Out of Stock

Also available at

Description

When Sister Angela receives an anonymous package containing an ornate silver candlestick, an object she hasn't seen in twenty-five years, her safe and secure life begins to shatter. Suddenly, she must confront her darkest secret: her participation in a crime from which she can no longer hide. As she sets about discovering who sent her the package, memories of St. X. School for Girls come back to haunt her.

At the center is a group of girls who call themselves The Sisterhood, from whom fourteen-year-old Angela desperately seeks comfort and approval. Saddened by her mother's declining health and her father's abandonment, Angela looks up to the group's beautiful and alluring leader, Rachel. When she is encouraged by Rachel to play a joke on another student, the rituals of The Sisterhood take a violent turn. Now, from within the safe refuge of her convent and with the unexpected help of a young pregnant girl, Angela at last faces the truth-and the boundaries of faith.

In the tradition of The Secret History and Lying Awake, The Divine Economy of Salvation is a dark, powerful, and suspenseful story that captures the innocence and cruelty of adolescence and the mysteries of adulthood.

Read more

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
416
Publication Date
August 26, 2002
ISBN
9781565123656

Share with your friends