Sign up for our newsletter to get 20% off site-wide! Learn More »

The Poet's House

By Jean Thompson

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
320
Publication Date
July 12, 2022
ISBN
9781643751566

The Poet's House

By Jean Thompson

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

Coming Soon

Also available at

Description

An unforgettable, lighthearted story about a young woman who discovers the insular world of writers, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Year We Left Home.

Carla is in her twenties, working for a landscaper, lacking confidence, still unsure what direction her life will take. Viridian is a lauded and lovely aging poet whose reputation has been defined by her infamous affair with a famous male poet, Mathias, many years earlier. When Carla is hired to work at Viridian's house, she is perplexed by this community of writers: their tendency to recite lines in conversation, the stories of their many liaisons, their endless wine-soaked nights. And still she becomes enamored with Viridian and her whole circle, and especially with the power of words, the “ache and hunger that can both be awakened and soothed by a poem,” a hunger that Carla feels sharply at this stagnating moment in her young life. At the same time, she sees how even Viridian has had to compromise so much to take her place in the world of letters. And as Viridian’s standing begins to fade, a number of people angle to gain possession of Mathias’s cycle of poems written about Viridian, a cycle he famously burned as he read them. Yet long after Mathias' s death, one copy may still rest with Viridian. If so, why won't she release it?
 
A wry meditation on art as both transformative and on the ways in which it can be leveraged as commerce, as well as a perceptive examination of the female artist, Jean Thompson’s novel is at once delightfully funny and wise, and will resonate with readers who loved Lily King's Writers & Lovers, Meg Wolitzer's The Female Persuasion, and Susan Choi’s Trust Exercise.
 

Read more

Review quotes

“Jean Thompson makes hanging out with poets look like even more of a good time than one suspects, in real life, it might be. The Poet's House is terrific company: funny, poignant, and full of realistically quirky and original characters. A thoroughly enjoyable read.”
—Julie Schumacher, author of The Shakespeare Requirement

Praise for Who Do You Love:

“A quietly devastating book...few fiction writers working today have more successfully rendered the sensation of solid ground suddenly melting away, pinpointing that instant when the familiar present is swallowed up by an always encroaching past or voided future."
— Katherine Dieckmann, New York Times Book Review

“With spare eloquence, Thompson surveys the lives of emotionally dislocated people craving connection but infuses even the saddest situation with humor and a wry glimmer of hope. The fifteen stories in this collection ring with an unpretentious integrity and a knowledge of human complexities."
Publishers Weekly, Best Books of 1999

"The best pieces in this collection are as good as it gets in contemporary fiction. Jean Thompson has long been a writer much admired by other writers; perhaps Who Do You Love will bring her the wider recognition she deserves.”
Newsday

Praise for Wide Blue Yonder:
 
“Wide Blue Yonder offers precisely the kind of beautifully crafted, intelligent, imaginative writing that serious readers crave . . . Each sentence deserves to be appreciated.”
USA Today

"Wide Blue Yonder reaffirms Thompson's stature as one of our most lucid and insightful writers.”
San Francisco Chronicle

“Detonates a whole fireworks of happy endings—flares of hope and success so exuberant that the book almost seems to require a warning label.”
New York Times Book Review

Praise for City Boy:

“Like Maxine Chernoff and Joyce Carol Oates, Thompson, a stellar stylist, offers unexpected twists, piercingly insightful descriptions, venomous dialogue, and unfailing empathy in a galvanizing novel of hazardous love. ”
Booklist

“A cage-rattling, profoundly satisfying book.”
— Pam Houston, O, The Oprah Magazine

"Mesmerizing...City Boy abounds in . . . mordant wit and keen psychological observations.”
Boston Herald

Praise for Throw Like a Girl:

“If there are 'Jean Thompson characters,' they're us, and never have we been so articulate and worthy of compassion. These stories confirm that no one is beneath her interest, or beyond her sure and seemingly limitless reach."
— David Sedaris

"Like Raymond Carver, Jean Thompson is fascinated by the sudden and unlikely communion of people. Her characters vary, but she never condescends to them, no matter how hungry their hearts are, no matter how many screws they have loose . . . Her fiction [is] a gold mine.”
Newsweek

“Thompson is a writer of extraordinary intelligence and sensitivity.”
O, The Oprah Magazine

Praise for Do Not Deny Me:

Thompson...delivers a deeply affecting collection that elevates the quotidian to the sublime . . . explore[s] a bewildering array of experience . . . Thompson immerses readers in details and emotions so consuming and convincing that the inane vagaries of modern life can take on near mythic importance. This collection shows the confidence and power of a writer in her prime."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[Thompson's] particular grace . . . may be that her language and approach at first seem so straightforward that it's only partway through reading a story that, like one of her characters, we experience the surprise of a new world unfolding from the ordinary . . . twilit, elegiac . . . downright funny, too . . . Reviewing such a remarkable writer, one's own words can seem too ordinary, but Thompson's talent is such that it can overcome even those limitations."
Booklist, starred review

“[In] Jean Thompson's immensely satisfying new collection...emotional movement is small but powerful . . . The prose brims with unforced insight.”
Los Angeles Times

Praise for The Year We Left Home:

"Wise and absorbing, this is one not to miss.”
People

“An extraordinarily warm-hearted novel.”
—Jonathan Dee, The New York Times Book Review

"The Year We Left Home plumbs the American heart with rigor and intensity, seamlessly connecting one family’s fortunes to those of the larger national community.”
O: The Oprah Magazine

Praise for The Humanity Project:
“[A] bracing narrative stance and a tart political viewpoint . . . [Thompson] is eerily good at inhabiting a wide range of perspectives and has a fine ear for the way young people speak to one another . . . a novel that doesn’t pretend to have any answers, comfortable or otherwise, but that vividly, insistently poses questions we should be asking.”
The New York Times

“Thompson achieves exceptional clarity and force in this instantly addictive, tectonically shifting novel. As always, her affection and compassion for her characters draw you in close, as does her imaginative crafting of precarious situations and moments of sheer astonishment . . . Thompson infuses her characters’ bizarre, terrifying, and instructive misadventures with hilarity and profundity as she considers the wild versus the civilized, the “survival of the richest,” how and why we help and fail each other, and what it might mean to “build an authentic spiritual self.” Thompson is at her tender and scathing best in this tale of yearning, paradox, and hope.”
Booklist, starred review

“[A] penetrating vision of a lower-middle-class family sinking fast . . . Thompson has a knack for rendering characters who are emotionally fluid but of a piece [and] caps the story with a smart twist ending that undoes many of the certainties the reader arrived at in the preceding pages. A rare case of a novel getting it both ways: A formal, tightly constructed narrative that accommodates the mess of everyday lives.”
Kirkus, starred review

“[Humanity is] something that Thompson infuses into every sentence, striking true, clear notes . . . and telling [characters'] stories in a way that doesn't offer resolutions so much as a messy, imperfect kind of grace. And what's more human than that?”
Entertainment Weekly

Praise for A Cloud in the Shape of a Girl:
"There’s not a false note in this powerful, beautifully crafted exploration of the trade-offs in women’s lives."
People

"Thompson brilliantly explores familial struggles . . . [a] remarkable achievement.”
New York Journal of Books

"Jean Thompson is a brilliant novelist from the classic school of storytelling. A Cloud in the Shape of a Girl is a story that illustrates our present moment through a keen and unflinching look at our past. Thompson’s work centers on the Midwest, what some call ‘fly over’ country, but in her hands, we come to see that it is the center."
—Tayari Jones, author of An American Marriage

"In this beautiful and unflinching novel, Thompson excavates one of life’s essential truths: if we aren’t doomed to repeat the past we are certainly called to reckon with it, to acknowledge the shape of our personal history and decide what to carry forward, what to bury. Gorgeously written and perfectly composed, this book is a powerful look at the unbidden forces that shape our lives and the unexpected places where love erupts and flourishes."
—Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest
 

Read more

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
320
Publication Date
July 12, 2022
ISBN
9781643751566

Share with your friends