Use promo code SAVE35 to get 35% off all calendars! Shop Now »

The Temple House Vanishing

By Rachel Donohue

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
July 06, 2021
ISBN
9781643751733

The Temple House Vanishing

By Rachel Donohue

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

Available at

Description

An Irish Bestseller Finalist for the Irish Book Awards’ Newcomer of the Yea

Perched high atop a seaside cliff in Ireland, a lonely Victorian mansion is home to Temple House School.


At Temple House, nothing is ever as it seems.

Louisa is the new, brilliant scholarship student. Finding most of the other students at the all-girls Catholic boarding school as icy and unfamiliar as the drafty mansion, she forms a fierce bond with the intense and compelling Victoria, an outlier and student provocateur.

Their close bond is soon unsettled by the young, charismatic art teacher, Mr. Lavelle—igniting tension and obsession in the cloistered world of the school. Then one day, Louisa and Mr. Lavelle disappear.

There is no trace of either one. It’s the unsolved mystery that captivates the whole country. Year after year, the media revisit it, and the conspiracy theories persist. Now, on the twenty-fifth anniversary, a journalist—a woman who grew up on the same street as Louisa—delves into the past to write a series of articles and uncover the truth. She finds stories of jealousy and revenge, power and class. But will she find Louisa and Mr. Lavelle, too?

Because remember—at Temple House, nothing is ever as it seems.

Told through alternating points of view, Rachel Donohue’s debut novel skillfully, gradually, lets the reader into the hearts and minds of both Louisa and the determined reporter. Th is page-turner is perfect for fans of Elisabeth Thomas’s Catherine House or Kate Elizabeth Russell’s My Dark Vanessa.

Read more

Review quotes

“Rachel Donohue is an enchanting writer. Her words seem, at first, innocent and straightforward, but then it becomes apparent that they are doing mischievous things. As Mr. Lavalle, a central character in her impressive debut The Temple House Vanishing, points out: ‘It’s important to remember that here, nothing is ever as it seems.’”  
The Sunday Business Post (Ireland)
 
“Donohue is a master of clean, sharp prose, and has a hugely impressive ability to create layers of atmosphere or ratchet up tension in a couple of beguilingly simple sentences.” 
 The Irish Times
 

“This brooding tale of obsessive love, teenage jealousy and hidden desire has a dark charm all of its own…While the unsettling atmosphere is enough to keep the pages turning, Donohue also does a fine job of holding parts of her story back. When the shocking solution is finally revealed, it is in the sort of circumstances that all but force the reader to return to the beginning to marvel at how the trail was laid.”  
inews.co.uk

Read more

Product details

Published By
Algonquin Books
Categories
Number Of Pages
304
Publication Date
July 06, 2021
ISBN
9781643751733

Share with your friends