Sign up for our newsletter to get 20% off + free shipping on orders over $25! Learn more »

The Unbelievable FIB 1

The Trickster's Tale

By Adam Shaughnessy

Product details

Age range
9 - 12
Grade range
3 - 7
Published By
Algonquin Young Readers
Categories
Number Of Pages
288
Publication Date
August 16, 2016
ISBN
9781616206376

The Unbelievable FIB 1

The Trickster's Tale

By Adam Shaughnessy

Also available at

Description

MAGIC is everywhere . . . and the last thing you should do is believe your own eyes.

Dark clouds and ominous thunder have been hanging over Middleton for days. Some say it’s just bad weather, but eleven-year-old Pru will soon learn that it’s much, much more dangerous than that. Mythical beings are invading her usually ordinary town, and it’s up to Pru and newcomer ABE--with help from an uncommonly rude squirrel and the mysterious Mister Fox--to save their home from being destroyed by battling Norse gods.

To do that, they’ll have to outrun trolls and enter worlds of myth and magic. When the pair find themselves locked in a battle against a dangerously clever enemy, they race to find the lost Eye of Odin, source of all knowledge--and the key to stopping a war that could destroy both human and immortal realms.

Originally published as The Entirely True Story of the Unbelievable FIB.

Read more

Review quotes

“Puzzles, plot twists, and sly humor abound. Fans of Rick Riordan and Diana Wynne Jones, take note!”—Learning Magazine
 
“Debut author Shaughnessy skillfully weaves Norse myth, the story of Baba Yaga, and Pru’s pain over her father’s death into an action-packed story full of heart . . . It’s a moving exploration of the ways people can close themselves off to magic in the world, as well as face grief scarier than any frost giant.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“In a vein similar to Percy Jackson, the Imaginary Veterinary books, and even Men in Black, this strong debut is shaping up to be an intriguing series. Shaughnessy seamlessly blends Norse and Russian mythologies with the genres of mystery, fantasy, and adventure all the while hitting upon some deeper personal issues such as loss and self-awareness. The conflict is satisfyingly resolved by story’s end, giving it the feel of a stand-alone novel. With the current popularity of Norse characters in pop culture this is not only sure to be an easy sell, but also a book with substance--one to satisfy the cravings of more sophisticated readers looking to sink their teeth into a good folkloric story. A creative, fun mystery that combines a variety of genres and deeper themes.” —School Library Journal
 
“There’s pleasure to be found in the fantasy/adventure moments featuring Thor, frost giants, and the head of the FIB, the quirky Mr. Fox (evoking more than a bit of Dr. Who in both his dialogue and his magical tiny shack . . . this planned series certainly has potential.”—The Bulletin of the The Center for Children’s Books
 
“This story offers pleasing elements, including an authentic boy- girl friendship, fresh musings on the place of magic in childhood, and original, vividly depicted scenes (check out Mr. Fox's henhouse, a tiny shack with nearly infinite possibilities inside). Shaughnessy's imaginings show promise, and his puzzles and plot twists will absorb and intrigue younger readers, as they consider the book's central questions about truth, magic, and adventure.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Shaughnessy’s debut will please middle-grade readers already interested in Nordic mythology.”—Booklist
 

Read more

Product details

Age range
9 - 12
Grade range
3 - 7
Published By
Algonquin Young Readers
Categories
Number Of Pages
288
Publication Date
August 16, 2016
ISBN
9781616206376

Share with your friends